God is Mystery

I am not sure we take God’s mystery seriously enough.  I know I can over think God and try to fit God into a nice conceptual box so I can understand the mystery.  And, in the end, try to control the mystery.  Maybe that is the issue.  We do not like to be out-of-control.  Perhaps when we do not have the mystery of God at our center we are left with the ego’s sheer craze for power and control?  Willfulness becomes the rule.  I know I see this in my own life when something doesn’t go my way.  I try to force things into my expectations and get thoroughly disappointed when my outrageous expectations are not met.  Wise are the words of Jesus: “The wind blows where it wills and you can hear the sound it makes, but you do not know where it comes from or where it goes; so it is with everyone who is born of the Spirit.”  And so it is with the Spirit!  With God!  Now, I find when I do yield to the Mystery and accept not knowing and niot being in control, life fills with so much freedom and pristine joy.

Standard

Leave a Reply

